# **EUROPEAN COUNCILS FOR SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION POLICY (11th NOVEMBER 2020)**

#### **Conclusions**

On 10 November 2020, we, chairs and executives from European Councils for Science, Technology and Innovation Policy, met virtually to discuss the future of the European Research Area. The signatories agreed that the current COVID-19 pandemic, which brings so much suffering, challenges us in unprecedented ways to strengthen our knowledge base in order to better understand, cure, and prevent the disease, to innovate for a speedy recovery, and to increase the resilience of Europe. These challenges can only be met if our countries invest in strong science, technology and innovation ecosystems, and if cooperation across borders is stimulated and supported both in Europe and on a global scale. We therefore came to the following conclusions:

We welcome the Bonn Declaration on Freedom of Scientific Research as adopted by the Ministerial Conference on the European Research Area on 20 October 2020 in Bonn. We share the view that research and the freedom to conduct research are indispensable prerequisites for our social, cultural, political and economic resilience and progress. We applaud the ministers' commitment to supporting and strengthening the freedom of research, both in Europe and around the globe.

We support the agreement reached between the Council Presidency and the European Parliament's group of negotiators for a substantial improvement on the extraordinary European Council's July conclusions concerning the EU multiannual financial framework (MFF), and we urge the Member States to endorse that agreement. We consider cuts in the Horizon Europe budget as highly detrimental to Europe's research and innovation capacity. They would signal a lack of political will, and thereby diminish the ERA's attractiveness for highly-skilled research and innovation personnel.

**We commit** to continue, strengthen and intensify our mutual exchange on issues of science, technology and innovation policy, to create spaces for mutual learning across borders, and to contribute to shaping a truly European discourse on these vital policy issues.

**We invite** representatives from advisory bodies specializing in science, technology and innovation policy across Europe to join us in a spirit of trust and open cooperation.

# List of signatories

### **Austria**

Dr Klara Sekanina

Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development, chair

#### **Austria**

Professor Dr **Antonio Loprieno**Austrian Science Board, president

# Belgium

#### **Lieven Danneels**

Flemish Advisory Council for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (VARIO), chair

#### Croatia

## Professor Dr Mirjana Polić Bobić

National Council for Science, Higher Education and Technological Development, president

#### Denmark

# Professor Frede Blaabjerg

Danish Council for Research and Innovation Policy, chair

# Germany

# Professor Dr **Dorothea Wagner**

Council for Sciences and Humanities, chair

#### Latvia

#### Professor Dr Gita Rēvalde

Latvian Council of Science, director

#### Lithuania

## Professor Dr Romas Baronas

Research Council of Lithuania, chair

#### Malta

## Dr Jeffrey Pullicino Orlando

Malta Council for Science and Technology, executive chairman

#### **Poland**

# Professor Maciej Duszczyk

Science Policy Committee, chairman

# **Spain**

#### Professor Dr Rosa Menéndez

Spanish National Research Council, president

#### Turkey

## Professor Dr Hasan Mandal

The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TÜBİTAK), president